Pizza Express & Deliveroo Review II // 21.10.16

Pizza Express & Deliveroo

At the beginning of the month I was invited by Pizza Express to try out their delivery service with Deliveroo. To be honest it wasn’t a great experience. You can read about my previous experience here.

Pizza Express, naturally, were disappointed that I was….. well disappointed with the service, so they asked if I would like another opportunity to try our their food via the Deliveroo delivery service.

Obviously I wasn’t going to turn this down. I hate giving less than positive reviews but I will always be honest. Therefore I wanted to give Pizza Express the opportunity to provide a good service so I could blog something positive about them.

In my previous post I wrote about my love of their Spinich & Ricotta Cannelloni, so I thought it would be a good opportunity to try out my favourite. I hadn’t had it for 10 years, so I was hoping it would still be the same. I also decided to have the Calamari as a starter.

Ordering from Pizza Express & Deliveroo:

As mentioned in my previous post. Ordering from the Deliveroo App is really easy. One tip I will give you is to order in advance as much as possible. I ordered this on a Saturday evening and because that is a busy time, I had to wait a bit longer than usual for it to be delivered. Deliveroo notified me at the beginning of my order which was fantastic. So I didn’t have to ring up and say ‘I placed an order over an hour ago, where is it?’

pizza express & deliveroo

One thing I didn’t notice before was that you can track the rider on the app to see how far he is away from your house. This is a very useful feature and meant I could be fully prepared for my food to arrive.

pizza-express-deliveroo-2

The Delivery:Ā 

The food arrived dead on 9pm which was fantastic. The Deliveroo delivery driver was different from last time and he was very nice. Unfortunately a bit of my Spinach & Ricotta Canneloni had leaked in his delivery box which was a bit of a shame.

The Food:Ā 

As mentioned above, a bit of my Cannelloni had leaked during transit. This happened for two reasons.

One – The delivery box for Deliveroo is strapped to the riders back, therefore at an angle. Food needs to be transported when it’s level.

Two – Pizza Express didn’t use a secured lid on my Cannelloni, instead it was placed inside a small Pizza Express Box.

If it had been delivered in a car, it wouldn’t have been a problem, but then Pizza Express should be wrapping their food better.

The Deliveroo delivery guy seemed a bit miffed that he had cheesy sauce in his delivery box. I was jealous! I wanted the cheesy sauce… on my Cannelloni.

cannelloni

As you can see from the picture above I am missing a bit of sauce from on top.

However, once dished up onto a normal dinner plate, you wouldn’t notice the difference. The Cannelloni arrived piping hot which was fantastic.

The Spinach & Ricotta Cannelloni was absolutely delicious. The sauce was creamy, the spinach & ricotta was seasoned correctly and the pasta was cooked to perfection. It was just how I remembered it from years ago, if not better. This is a perfect example of comfort food for me on an autumn evening.

calamari

I ate the Calamari after the Cannelloni because I didn’t want the Cannelloni to go cold. The Calamari was also very delicious. It was cooked perfectly and wasn’t rubbery like you get with other restaurants. The sauce complimented the Calamari perfectly and there was plenty of sauce.

Conclusion

Overall, the experience with Pizza Express & Deliveroo was much more positive this time around. I would definitely order from Pizza Express again. I am just hoping that they keep the Cannelloni on the menu permanently.

Signature

Note: Pizza Express provided me with Deliveroo credit for the purpose of this review. As always all opinions are my own.Ā 

Pin For Later:

Pizza Express & Deliveroo Review

Share:

88 Comments

  1. Sharon H October 25, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    I’ve not tried Deliveroo mainly because I had a bad experience with another company. Perhaps I should give them a go.

  2. Kellie Steed October 25, 2016 / 11:44 pm

    I have to admit, I don’t like the idea of Deliveroo because of the bike transport. I appreciate the environmental benefit but I wouldn’t want food that I’d paid good money for to be tipped all over the place! In terms of Italian food, I would have to recommend Zizzi over Pizza Express. I am a bit biased because they have a fantastic vegan menu, which is very much a rarity, but the food comes highly recommended.

  3. Louise Evans-Clarke October 25, 2016 / 11:46 pm

    Ive never tried Deliveroo but i think i will in the future

  4. Tracy Nixon October 26, 2016 / 4:52 am

    Great review thanks! Not used Deliveroo before.

  5. Andrew Petrie October 26, 2016 / 6:57 am

    Interesting review, I’ve never used Deliveroo, and a good point about the delivery box needing to be level.

  6. amy fidler October 26, 2016 / 7:19 am

    thanks for the review xx never heard of Deliveroo

  7. Peter Watson October 26, 2016 / 7:49 am

    I worry about the deliverers being exploited.

  8. Jennifer Haden October 26, 2016 / 8:15 am

    Great review, never heard of this place before, very good to hear you liked it šŸ™‚ x

  9. Lindsey Stuart October 26, 2016 / 8:53 am

    I stay waaaaaay out in the middle of no where so unfortunately we don’t get food delivered (we have to drive) there isn’t a pizza express near by either however I did buy some gorgeous pizza express pizzas from Iceland, Have you tried them? oh they were lovely!
    I do hope we get deliveries in the future.

  10. Sarah Mackay October 26, 2016 / 10:32 am

    Brilliant review as have never used deliveroo

  11. iain maciver October 26, 2016 / 10:33 am

    fab review

  12. Stephanie Lear October 26, 2016 / 11:21 am

    Nice to see an honest review! Great stuff x

  13. Alica October 26, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    I have never used Deliveroo but I do love Pizza Express!

  14. jacqui graham October 26, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    Great review thanks! Not used Deliveroo before, my mind had been changed

    • andy morris October 27, 2016 / 10:45 am

      great deliveroo

  15. Kim Carberry October 26, 2016 / 1:32 pm

    I’m glad things worked out this time….
    We don’t have Deliveroo up here! I wish it was šŸ˜€

  16. Gisela Wilson October 26, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    Never used Deliveroo before but good review.

  17. Anthony Harrington October 26, 2016 / 2:55 pm

    I haven’t used Deliveroo, I don’t tend to get takeaways

  18. Laura Jeffs October 26, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    Loved your review..Have never tried Deliveroo, nor Pizza Express, mainly because they don’t cater much for vegans and we are a vegan family

  19. Kayleigh White October 26, 2016 / 7:48 pm

    Looks great – although I don’t have a Pizza Express anywhere near me!

  20. Chrissie Curtis October 26, 2016 / 8:00 pm

    Oooh sounds good. I love pizza!

  21. Sarah Corbett October 27, 2016 / 5:20 am

    Thanks for the honest review. I do love Pizza Express, however – there isn’t one close to me.

  22. Sophie Ade October 27, 2016 / 7:10 am

    I have not tried Deliveroo but will possibly give it a try. Good tip to order earlier.

  23. Jo Carroll October 27, 2016 / 8:55 am

    Didn’t sound like a good experience at all. You would think that the priority of a food company is to make sure the actual food arrives safely and as intended to eat? The only good thing seemed to be the ability to track the drivers whereabouts but then again if you’ve got time to do that it’s probably easier just to go and oick the food up in person? šŸ˜‰

  24. Alana Walker October 27, 2016 / 2:22 pm

    Sounds like an interesting couple of experiences. Glad they made up for it with the second one (apart from the sauce!). We don’t have a Pizza Express near us, unfortunately.

  25. jessica woods October 27, 2016 / 8:49 pm

    Definitely going to give deliveroo a try

  26. Annmarie Gould October 27, 2016 / 9:35 pm

    We dont have Deliveroo in our area but i think youve given them a fair review. We use Just Eat alot, its not as specific as Deliveroo in terms of the progress of my order but its reliable and promotes local businesses and is lot easier when im feeling lazy šŸ™‚

  27. Kesi brooks October 28, 2016 / 3:49 am

    Love pizza. Never heard of Deliveroo sounds great . Looks good

  28. Kelly Hemmings October 28, 2016 / 8:36 am

    I love pizza, however I prefer to go out for food & hardly ever have a take away. It’s brilliant that pizza express is now delivering though…it’s my favourite pizza place

  29. Beverley Cousins October 28, 2016 / 11:09 am

    Ive never tried Deliveroo but i think i will in the future, never thought of it before x

  30. sarah m October 28, 2016 / 11:17 am

    Food looks delicious. Shame about the delivery!

  31. Emma Fox October 28, 2016 / 11:30 am

    Looks and sounds like a great idea. I’m sure that given my nearest Pizza Express is half an hour away they will not be delivering out here šŸ™

  32. laura jayne bates October 29, 2016 / 11:50 am

    i love pizza express but never tried deliveroo

  33. emma walters October 30, 2016 / 7:06 am

    great how you can track them on the move! shame our local one is miles away šŸ™

  34. claire blaney October 30, 2016 / 10:28 am

    Ive never tried Deliveroo its not in my area yet but i hope to soon

  35. Sophie Grayling October 30, 2016 / 11:59 am

    Accidentally used deliveroo the other day when ordering a pizza. Time between me and the pizza place is about 30 seconds woops

  36. Laura Tovey October 30, 2016 / 6:48 pm

    I haven’t tried either, but after your review I might try it next time we have take-away

  37. Paul Wilson October 31, 2016 / 1:48 am

    I don’t think either operate in my area.

  38. Heather Haigh October 31, 2016 / 9:14 am

    I’ve never tried deliveroo but you have got me intrested

  39. Carly Belsey November 1, 2016 / 9:48 am

    What a fab idea. I would definitely give Deliveroo a go. You cant knock something until you try it šŸ™‚

  40. suzanna gentle November 1, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    I haven’t used deliveroo but have to say that Pizza Express don’t give very good service. I had to make a complaint once when i was given a wrong order. I was polite and asked them to bring the right order and i would return the wrong one. They really were belligerent and it took them 3 hours to correct the mistake by which time my 2 youngest were in bed.

  41. Char Keddy November 2, 2016 / 12:24 pm

    Love PE so interesting post, thanks. Will have to keep this in mind and not order sauce filled items in case there is spillage when trying Deliveroo.

  42. kimberley ryan November 3, 2016 / 2:28 pm

    Super review, very honest. Sounds like a great idea, but I’m not sure it would be a service I would personally use

  43. Emma Walton November 3, 2016 / 8:25 pm

    I haven’t tried Deliveroo before.

  44. Stephanie Coals November 4, 2016 / 12:03 am

    Would definitely love to give it a try, seems like a really good concept

  45. Amy Green November 4, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    I had no idea Pizza Express delivered.. I’ve been wanting to go for ages!

  46. michelle o'neill November 4, 2016 / 5:40 pm

    Great review x

  47. Emma Rawlinson November 5, 2016 / 10:21 am

    I love Pizza Express – especially the dough balls šŸ™‚

  48. Tracey S Anderson November 5, 2016 / 4:46 pm

    Great review thank you, i have never heard of Deliveroo until now x x

  49. A S,Edinburgh November 5, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    Oh that’s good, glad it was a better experience this time. If Pizza Express aren’t adequately packing for it then that kind of puts me off them a bit, given their prices, but I’ll keep an eye out for reviews of my local branch.

  50. Judith Allen November 5, 2016 / 6:42 pm

    Very positive then over all, if we lived in a city we might be tempted to try it.

  51. Jemma November 6, 2016 / 6:26 am

    Love deliveroo! But am always worried the food will go cold! So I’m pleased this didn’t happen!

  52. Annaloa Hilmarsdottir November 7, 2016 / 10:12 am

    Love deliveroo and Pizza Express are the nest.

  53. HAYLEY CUNNINGHAM November 8, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    Thanks for review i love pizza šŸ™‚

  54. Sarah prescott November 8, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    Great article but I don’t think I would use delivery.

  55. Kim Neville November 8, 2016 / 3:04 pm

    Had never heard of Deliveroo but they sound reliable

  56. lisa prince November 8, 2016 / 3:56 pm

    oh its pizza night for me tonight after we jsust purchased a tv bed , lol cinema night for us is definitely planned might give this a try x

  57. Jane Middleton November 8, 2016 / 4:07 pm

    I am not a fan of Deliveroo as a company so I would not use them.

  58. Pauline Dring November 8, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    Interesting review, I like the odd trip to Pizza Express in town, the pizzas are good.
    Bit silly to not keep it all upright!

  59. Anita Hargreaves November 8, 2016 / 9:17 pm

    I haven’t had a takeaway pizza in years, as I prefer to spend Ā£2.00 on a Chicago pizza at my local shops, as well as that as frozen I add chilli flakes and its tangtastic

  60. Gill Mitchell November 8, 2016 / 9:54 pm

    Sorry about the spills but glad the food tasted good šŸ˜€

  61. Jo Hutchinson November 9, 2016 / 12:53 am

    Its good that they let you know its going to take awhile.

  62. Vicky Robinson November 9, 2016 / 10:25 am

    Great review. I’ve seen their bikes all over our local area, but not used them yet.

  63. Anna Brown November 9, 2016 / 10:48 am

    Great review, never ordered from either of these.

  64. George Wright November 9, 2016 / 11:38 am

    It’s nice to read honest reviews. They’re not in my area yet but if/when they are I’ll be trying it out!

  65. paula cheadle November 9, 2016 / 11:46 am

    Iā€™ve not tried Deliveroo because they are not around where I live

  66. Vicky Limerick November 9, 2016 / 11:50 am

    Looks amazing

  67. Sparklett21 November 9, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Great review. I’ve seen Deliveroo when we’ve been away, but we don’t have it locally, so I’ve never tried them.

  68. Samantha Fernley November 9, 2016 / 1:27 pm

    Great honest review, hopefully they will review their delivery as really it should arrive in perfect condition.

  69. Dawn Samples November 9, 2016 / 1:33 pm

    I love Pizza Express so I may have to look into whether deliveroo are around my area. I have to say though that I enjoy going into the restaurant as it’s part of the experience x

  70. Tiffeny Brown November 9, 2016 / 2:11 pm

    I’ve never heard of deliveroo before. Love pizza express, but hate traipsing out in the cold weather so might just give this a go šŸ™‚ x

  71. Hayley Todd November 9, 2016 / 2:53 pm

    When we were on a recent week holiday in London we spotted Deliveroo riders everywhere! We had never seen them before. We don’t have this service where we live, but I think it’s a really great idea!

  72. Ann Nesbitt November 9, 2016 / 3:33 pm

    Great review and never heard of Deliveroo until now, must check it out!

  73. Nicola Dow November 9, 2016 / 4:50 pm

    Havn’t tried Deliveroo as I dont think its in my area but I like the idea.

  74. Angela Treadway November 9, 2016 / 4:55 pm

    never heard of these before but it sounds good x

  75. Jeanette Davenport November 9, 2016 / 5:09 pm

    I never tried Deliveroo but after the gret reviews I think I will now xx

  76. claire sen November 9, 2016 / 5:58 pm

    I feel so hungry after seeing those photos! I like that your reviews are honest. I can’t get deliveroo living out in the countryside but hopefully one day I will know what it’s like to have a night off cooking!

  77. sandy Ralph November 9, 2016 / 6:41 pm

    i have never used deliveroo before i will have to try them out too

  78. sarah rowland November 9, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    will have to give it a go!

  79. jill dean November 9, 2016 / 7:13 pm

    I’ve never ordered take away pizza from anywhere before.

  80. sharon martin November 9, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    great review and blog post

  81. Annabel Greaves November 9, 2016 / 7:25 pm

    Sounds like a great delivery service and worth a try

  82. Deborah Mackenzie November 9, 2016 / 8:27 pm

    great review; not tried Deliveroo; but we really do not eat that much from take outs

  83. Laura Findlay November 9, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I will give them try x

  84. Rebecca Roberts November 9, 2016 / 9:48 pm

    No at tryed them they sound good not sure I’d keep it up to

  85. Cassandra Mayers November 9, 2016 / 11:02 pm

    I would be gutted about the cheesey sauce to!

  86. Jan November 10, 2016 / 12:02 am

    Make me feel like going out for pizza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *